The Department of Economics was started in 1975 under NEHU with only one regular faculty. As the number of teaching faculty increased, the department began to offer a three-year degree course: BA (Hons) and General in Economics. The department has produced many students who are now efficiently working under state and central governments. Currently, there are 5 regular and 1 contract teachers in the department.