The Govt. Aizawl College Study Centre is the first and largest IGNOU study centre in Mizoram.

Centre code:  1901
Year of establishment: 1988
Co-ordinator: Dr. Rebecca Lalhmangaihi
Number of Counsellors: 45
Office Ph.: 0389-2324721

There are two sessions in a year, January and July, and two examinations in June and December. Classes are conducted on Saturdays. Admissions are done online at 

Inset: BA class on 8.2.2020


  1. Bachelor of Social Work (BSW)
  2. Bachelor of Library and Information Science (BLIS)

    • Hindi
    • English
    • Political Science
    • History
    • Economics
    • Public Administration
    • Sociology
    • Commerce
    • Rural Development

    1. Certificate in Food and Nutrition (CFN)
    2. Certificate in Teaching of English as a Second Language (CTE)
    3. Certificate in HIV and Family Education (CAFE)
    4. Certificate in Environmental Studies (CES)
    5. Certificate in Consumer Protection (CCP)
    6. Certificate in Functional English (Basic Level) (CFE)
    7. Certificate in Human Rights (CHR)
    8. Certificate in Guidance (CIG)
    9. Certificate in Library and Information Science (CLIS)
    10. Certificate in Nutrition and Child Care (CNCC)
    11. Certificate in Rural Development (CRD)
    12. Certificate Programme in Laboratory Techniques (CPLT)
    13. Certificate in Teaching of Primary School Mathematics (CTPM)
    14. Certificate in Tourism Studies (CTS)
    15. Certificate in Disaster Management (CDM)
    1. Diploma in HIV and Family Education (DAFE)
    2. Diploma in Creative Writing in English (DCE)
    3. Diploma in Nutrition and Health Education (DNHE)
    4. Diploma in Tourism Studies (DTS)
    5. Diploma in Women’s Empowerment and Development (DWED)


  1. Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS)
  2. Master of Social Work (MSW)
  3. Master of Arts in History (MAH)
  4. Master of Arts in Rural Development (MARD)
  5. Master of Arts in Economics (MEC)
  6. Master of Arts in English (MEG)
  7. Master of Arts in Hindi (MHD)
  8. Master of Arts in Public Administration (MPA)
  9. Master of Arts in Political Science (MPS)
  10. Master of Arts in Sociology (MSO)


  1. Post Graduate Diploma in Disaster Management (PGDMM)
  2. Post Graduate Diploma in Environment and Sustainable Development (PGDESD)
  3. Post Graduate Diploma in Higher Education (PGDHE)
  4. Post Graduate Diploma in Rural Development (PGDRD)
  5. Post Graduate Diploma in Journalism and Mass Communication (PGJMC)
  6. Post Graduate Certificate in Agriculture Policy (PGCAP)