The Student Self-Support Union (SSU) is an NGO founded on the 27th May 1985 at Hrangbana College.  It later branched out into other educational institutions specifically at the high school and college levels. 

The Student Self-Support Union, Govt. Aizawl College Branch was established on the 1st August 2012 with fully elected office bearers and a membership enrollment of 137. However for various reasons, the branch fell apart for a few years till it was revived in 2016. Members may enroll on payment of Rs.10/-  Elections are held on an annual basis. The Union helps its members in finding gainful employment and prides itself on adherence to the value and dignity of labour.

The SSU has its headquarters at Khatla, and they have an annual assembly where awards are distributed to three deserving students. At the October 2019 SSU Annual Assembly, Veronica Lalthanzuali, a 4th sem. student from our college was awarded the prestigious award along with a citation and cash prize of Rs.10000/-